Rebellion was founded in 2001 by Tomi Göttlich (Bass) and Uwe Lulis (Guitar) after their departure from Grave Digger. Their 2002 debut album „Shakespeare’s Macbeth – A Tragedy In Steel“ received outstanding reviews and archieved cult status for its impressive interweaving of passages from the pages of Shakespeare and epic metal hymns. The album was followed by a headlining tour and several festival appearances – including Waken Open Air.

2003 saw the release of their sophomore album “Born a rebel” – an album that provides fans with a tremendous amount of groove and the heaviest riffs. The release entailed its ohn headlining tour and more festivals (including Metal Daze in Spain). Rebellion furthermore supported U.D.O. as opener of their tour.

The 2005 album „Sagas Of Iceland – The History Of The Vikings Volume I“ paved the way for the band’s ambitious trilogy of power metal albums that chronicles the history of the vikings. This thoroughly researched and oppulently arranged saga continued and concluded with the albums „Miklagard – The History Of The Vikings Volume II“ (2007) und „Arise: From Ginnungagap To Ragnarök – The History Of The Vikings Volume III“ (2009). The band made a name for themselves as crafters of extraordinary concept albums and were rewarded by their fans during the concerts in support of the albums. The expanded tours for the first two of the three albums did not only include concerts all over Germany, but also visits to Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands. Several festivals were, as usual, included in the touring efforts.

As 2010 came to a close, Uwe Lullis (now Accept), Gerd Lücking and Simone Wenzel left the band.

Encouraged by their fans, Rebellion was carried on and rebuild bei Tomi Göttlich (Bass) and Michael Seifert (Band) at the dawn of the new year. The vacant ranks were filled by Oliver Gleibig (Guitar), Stephan Karut (Guitar) and Matthias Karle (Drums)

2012 was the year of „Arminius – Furor Teutonicus“. The album garnered Rebellion international praise and the subsequent tour through locations in and around Germany were frenetic celebrations of the band their new linup.

Another chapter of germanic history was the subject of 2015s „Wyrd bið ful aræd – The History of the Saxons”. The history of the saxons was as well-researched as the topics of the preceding albums and molded into equally heavy songs.
2018s effort – „A Tragedy in Steel Part II. Shakespeare’s King Lear“ – is the eighth album of the band and their grimmest bei far. Rebellion avoided the usual mode of operation for this record and opted for a drastically reduced production to match the depressed temper of the literary template. “King Lear” was recorded at Tonewood Studio by the band’s own Oliver Gleibig.

The band’s revolving door turned again in 2019 and left Rebellion with another refreshed line-up and no concert venues to play at in 2020, due to the world-wide pandemic. Martin Giemza and Fabrizio Costantino are now operating the guitars while Sven Tost takes over the drums. With Covid raging through the world, Rebellion found themselves with three seasoned songwriters in the form of Göttlich, Giemza and Constantino and with no concerts to play and all this composition prowess, they started forging the ninth Album.

„We Are The People“ was released in July 2021 on CD, Vinyl and digital. The album once again turns to history for inspiration but this time stays within the last 100 years. As the title may suggest, the album focuses on the history of Europe and its conflicts from the horrors of the world wars to the formation of the european union. As the concert halls and festivals slowly reopen, the new songs and new members will once again travel from one venue to another. To celebrate all the good that was, that is and that will be. Together. We are the people!

Former members:

Uwe Lulis
Björn Eilen
Simone Wenzeln
Oliver Geibig
Stephan Karut

Randy Black
Gerd Lücking
David Faifer
Matthias Karle
Timo Schneider
Tommy Telkemeier